Page 2 of 12 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 40 of 237

Thread: Best Value Graphics card

  1. #21
    E-mpirial Plenipotentiary Viper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida
    Posts
    49,782
    Post Thanks / Like
    BahnNZ, I can post AMD and nVidia screens and you'd never quess which is which. Their picture quality is even and has been for years.

    Take a look here. Can you honestly tell me that you can see visible differences between AMD and nVidia renders?
    http://www.pcper.com/reviews/Graphic...tion-Day-1/Ima

    ---------- Post added at 05:57 PM ---------- Previous post was at 05:56 PM ----------

    Smokey, the Quadro line up in for developers. It's not a consumer model.
    There's no place like 127.0.0.1

  2. #22
    Main Screen Turn On! Segitz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Stuttgart, Germany
    Posts
    13,724
    Post Thanks / Like
    Also they're expensive as hell
    Kept you waiting

  3. #23
    *madhouse's offical creepy old guy* Smokey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    8,115
    Post Thanks / Like
    ahhh wondering why it was so dear Viper
    my PSN name is smokey777
    Originally posted julps31
    The truth. MGS has aged gracefully. MGS1 = MILF

  4. #24
    Senior Citizen BahnNZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Thailand
    Posts
    8,031
    Post Thanks / Like
    I can tell the difference between pulling out an AMD card and popping in an nVidia one sure.

    I've just done that you see.
    Last edited by BahnNZ; 03-31-2012 at 12:03 AM.

  5. #25
    E-mpirial Plenipotentiary Viper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida
    Posts
    49,782
    Post Thanks / Like
    Like I said, you'd have to have problems with one card to see noticeable change in the actual picture quality. PQ has been even for years now. Go check any review over the past 4-5 years.
    There's no place like 127.0.0.1

  6. #26
    Senior Citizen BahnNZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Thailand
    Posts
    8,031
    Post Thanks / Like
    Guess that's AMD Quality Control for ya then.

  7. #27
    Infamous Chimpanzee! venomv's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    5,516
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Viper View Post
    It's tough to find Quad Cores for a socket 775 motherboard (your ASUS board) now that they've moved on to newer architectures and sockets.


    I've found a few sellers offering Intel Core 2 Quad Q9500's for ~$200.00. You'll have to check local Aussie services but that's one of the most widely available CPU's left of the Core 2 Quad line up.
    I have that CPU and have no complaints.
    PSN:venomlvjr

  8. #28
    *madhouse's offical creepy old guy* Smokey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    8,115
    Post Thanks / Like
    also forgot to ask, with the 64 bit Windows 7 would it be fine to run the most basic (eg cheapest) OS?
    my PSN name is smokey777
    Originally posted julps31
    The truth. MGS has aged gracefully. MGS1 = MILF

  9. #29
    E-mpirial Plenipotentiary Viper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida
    Posts
    49,782
    Post Thanks / Like
    Windows 7 Home Premium will likely be the cheapest edition you can get in Australia and it's a perfectly valid edition for gaming.
    There's no place like 127.0.0.1

  10. #30
    *madhouse's offical creepy old guy* Smokey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    8,115
    Post Thanks / Like
    im thinking i might go for this $239 ASUS HD 6950

    http://www.asus.com/Graphics_Cards/A...DCII2DI4S1GD5/
    my PSN name is smokey777
    Originally posted julps31
    The truth. MGS has aged gracefully. MGS1 = MILF

  11. #31
    E-mpirial Plenipotentiary Viper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida
    Posts
    49,782
    Post Thanks / Like
    Good price for a good card.
    There's no place like 127.0.0.1

  12. #32
    *madhouse's offical creepy old guy* Smokey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    8,115
    Post Thanks / Like
    cool, and im presuming i can run a cable Display Port>HDMI? as it dont have HDMI i just want it to run 1920x1080p
    my PSN name is smokey777
    Originally posted julps31
    The truth. MGS has aged gracefully. MGS1 = MILF

  13. #33
    E-mpirial Plenipotentiary Viper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida
    Posts
    49,782
    Post Thanks / Like
    Probably comes with an HDMI cable but yes, it accepts Display Port as well. Should have 2 Display Ports outputs actually.
    There's no place like 127.0.0.1

  14. #34
    *madhouse's offical creepy old guy* Smokey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    8,115
    Post Thanks / Like
    ya it has 4 DPs & 2 DVIs no actual HDMI port though...

    HDMI Output : Yes x 1 (via DVI to HDMI adaptor x 1 )
    it comes with the cable
    Last edited by Smokey; 04-02-2012 at 09:04 PM.
    my PSN name is smokey777
    Originally posted julps31
    The truth. MGS has aged gracefully. MGS1 = MILF

  15. #35
    Your Amicable Overlord D3adcell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    15,945
    Post Thanks / Like
    You may even want to get a cheaper card unless you want to eventually upgrade everything else.

    I have a 6950 (2GB version) and thats probably overkill for your setup and it will require a new Power Supply. I don't know about the one from ASUS but mine does have HDMI 1.4, 2 x DVI and 2 x Mini Display Port. You probably also want to make sure your motherboard can support PCIe 2.1 with x16 slot and space for 2 slots (as the video card is big). Will also need a minimum of 500watt powersupply with 2 PCIe power connectors.

    Not that i'm discouraing you from buying it but you will need to meet those requirements. I don't want you to buy it and then be dissapointed because it's not compatible.

  16. #36
    *madhouse's offical creepy old guy* Smokey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    8,115
    Post Thanks / Like
    Support PCIe 1.1 Architecture

    its a P5QPL-AM hmmm... might need a new board..

    my PSN name is smokey777
    Originally posted julps31
    The truth. MGS has aged gracefully. MGS1 = MILF

  17. #37
    E-mpirial Plenipotentiary Viper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida
    Posts
    49,782
    Post Thanks / Like
    PCi-e is forward compliant. And because the bandwidth of PCi-e 1.0 hasn't even really been fully saturated, you'll not likely lose much if any frames at all. In other words, you're PCi-e 2.0 GPU is compatible with your PCI-e 1.1 motherboard.
    There's no place like 127.0.0.1

  18. #38
    I hate Chicago. goku2057's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The Deep South
    Posts
    12,890
    Post Thanks / Like
    I have an intel core2 Quad q6600. Its been fairly solid for me.


    Le Cabalry: Dwhittenempire, goku2057, Milly, Zac, Alias, Colin™, Spatula, mysterio, Nathan, C.J., Resident Darkness

  19. #39
    E-mpirial Plenipotentiary Viper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida
    Posts
    49,782
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by goku2057 View Post
    I have an intel core2 Quad q6600. Its been fairly solid for me.
    Those are becoming harder to find new. Amazon has a tray (not boxed model) from a 3rd party vendor going for $201 and they only have 5 left.
    There's no place like 127.0.0.1

  20. #40
    *madhouse's offical creepy old guy* Smokey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    8,115
    Post Thanks / Like
    many thanks viper i can cut alot of this out then

    i did build up a pc online would cost me just over a grand

    Thermaltake Full ATX Overseer Case Black with Dock (No PSU)

    Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit OEM

    Intel S1155 Core i7 2700K 3.50Ghz Quad Core Unlocked CPU

    Gigabyte S1155 MicroATX GA-Z68MA-D2H-B3 Motherboard

    NVIDIA GTX560 Ti 1GB ASUS PCIe Video Card PN ENGTX560-TI-DC2-1GD5

    700 Watt Thermaltake LitePower Power Supply
    my PSN name is smokey777
    Originally posted julps31
    The truth. MGS has aged gracefully. MGS1 = MILF

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

User Tag List

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •