Page 2 of 12 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 40 of 237

Thread: Best Value Graphics card

  1. #21
    E-mpirial Plenipotentiary Viper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida
    Posts
    49,718
    Post Thanks / Like
    BahnNZ, I can post AMD and nVidia screens and you'd never quess which is which. Their picture quality is even and has been for years.

    Take a look here. Can you honestly tell me that you can see visible differences between AMD and nVidia renders?
    http://www.pcper.com/reviews/Graphic...tion-Day-1/Ima

    ---------- Post added at 05:57 PM ---------- Previous post was at 05:56 PM ----------

    Smokey, the Quadro line up in for developers. It's not a consumer model.
    The current US government is the type of government the founding fathers fought against and warned us about.

    America, the Dr. will free you now.


  2. #22
    Main Screen Turn On! Segitz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Stuttgart, Germany
    Posts
    13,218
    Post Thanks / Like
    Also they're expensive as hell
    Kept you waiting

  3. #23
    *madhouse's offical creepy old guy* Smokey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    8,079
    Post Thanks / Like
    ahhh wondering why it was so dear Viper
    my PSN name is smokey777
    Originally posted julps31
    The truth. MGS has aged gracefully. MGS1 = MILF

  4. #24
    Senior Citizen BahnNZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Thailand
    Posts
    7,947
    Post Thanks / Like
    I can tell the difference between pulling out an AMD card and popping in an nVidia one sure.

    I've just done that you see.
    Last edited by BahnNZ; 03-31-2012 at 12:03 AM.

  5. #25
    E-mpirial Plenipotentiary Viper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida
    Posts
    49,718
    Post Thanks / Like
    Like I said, you'd have to have problems with one card to see noticeable change in the actual picture quality. PQ has been even for years now. Go check any review over the past 4-5 years.
    The current US government is the type of government the founding fathers fought against and warned us about.

    America, the Dr. will free you now.


  6. #26
    Senior Citizen BahnNZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Thailand
    Posts
    7,947
    Post Thanks / Like
    Guess that's AMD Quality Control for ya then.

  7. #27
    Infamous Chimpanzee! venomv's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    5,476
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Viper View Post
    It's tough to find Quad Cores for a socket 775 motherboard (your ASUS board) now that they've moved on to newer architectures and sockets.


    I've found a few sellers offering Intel Core 2 Quad Q9500's for ~$200.00. You'll have to check local Aussie services but that's one of the most widely available CPU's left of the Core 2 Quad line up.
    I have that CPU and have no complaints.
    PSN:venomlvjr

  8. #28
    *madhouse's offical creepy old guy* Smokey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    8,079
    Post Thanks / Like
    also forgot to ask, with the 64 bit Windows 7 would it be fine to run the most basic (eg cheapest) OS?
    my PSN name is smokey777
    Originally posted julps31
    The truth. MGS has aged gracefully. MGS1 = MILF

  9. #29
    E-mpirial Plenipotentiary Viper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida
    Posts
    49,718
    Post Thanks / Like
    Windows 7 Home Premium will likely be the cheapest edition you can get in Australia and it's a perfectly valid edition for gaming.
    The current US government is the type of government the founding fathers fought against and warned us about.

    America, the Dr. will free you now.


  10. #30
    *madhouse's offical creepy old guy* Smokey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    8,079
    Post Thanks / Like
    im thinking i might go for this $239 ASUS HD 6950

    http://www.asus.com/Graphics_Cards/A...DCII2DI4S1GD5/
    my PSN name is smokey777
    Originally posted julps31
    The truth. MGS has aged gracefully. MGS1 = MILF

  11. #31
    E-mpirial Plenipotentiary Viper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida
    Posts
    49,718
    Post Thanks / Like
    Good price for a good card.
    The current US government is the type of government the founding fathers fought against and warned us about.

    America, the Dr. will free you now.


  12. #32
    *madhouse's offical creepy old guy* Smokey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    8,079
    Post Thanks / Like
    cool, and im presuming i can run a cable Display Port>HDMI? as it dont have HDMI i just want it to run 1920x1080p
    my PSN name is smokey777
    Originally posted julps31
    The truth. MGS has aged gracefully. MGS1 = MILF

  13. #33
    E-mpirial Plenipotentiary Viper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida
    Posts
    49,718
    Post Thanks / Like
    Probably comes with an HDMI cable but yes, it accepts Display Port as well. Should have 2 Display Ports outputs actually.
    The current US government is the type of government the founding fathers fought against and warned us about.

    America, the Dr. will free you now.


  14. #34
    *madhouse's offical creepy old guy* Smokey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    8,079
    Post Thanks / Like
    ya it has 4 DPs & 2 DVIs no actual HDMI port though...

    HDMI Output : Yes x 1 (via DVI to HDMI adaptor x 1 )
    it comes with the cable
    Last edited by Smokey; 04-02-2012 at 09:04 PM.
    my PSN name is smokey777
    Originally posted julps31
    The truth. MGS has aged gracefully. MGS1 = MILF

  15. #35
    Your Amicable Overlord D3adcell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    15,976
    Post Thanks / Like
    You may even want to get a cheaper card unless you want to eventually upgrade everything else.

    I have a 6950 (2GB version) and thats probably overkill for your setup and it will require a new Power Supply. I don't know about the one from ASUS but mine does have HDMI 1.4, 2 x DVI and 2 x Mini Display Port. You probably also want to make sure your motherboard can support PCIe 2.1 with x16 slot and space for 2 slots (as the video card is big). Will also need a minimum of 500watt powersupply with 2 PCIe power connectors.

    Not that i'm discouraing you from buying it but you will need to meet those requirements. I don't want you to buy it and then be dissapointed because it's not compatible.

  16. #36
    *madhouse's offical creepy old guy* Smokey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    8,079
    Post Thanks / Like
    Support PCIe 1.1 Architecture

    its a P5QPL-AM hmmm... might need a new board..

    my PSN name is smokey777
    Originally posted julps31
    The truth. MGS has aged gracefully. MGS1 = MILF

  17. #37
    E-mpirial Plenipotentiary Viper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida
    Posts
    49,718
    Post Thanks / Like
    PCi-e is forward compliant. And because the bandwidth of PCi-e 1.0 hasn't even really been fully saturated, you'll not likely lose much if any frames at all. In other words, you're PCi-e 2.0 GPU is compatible with your PCI-e 1.1 motherboard.
    The current US government is the type of government the founding fathers fought against and warned us about.

    America, the Dr. will free you now.


  18. #38
    I hate Chicago. goku2057's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The Deep South
    Posts
    12,872
    Post Thanks / Like
    I have an intel core2 Quad q6600. Its been fairly solid for me.


    Le Cabalry: Dwhittenempire, goku2057, Milly, Zac, Alias, Colin™, Spatula, mysterio, Nathan, C.J., Resident Darkness

  19. #39
    E-mpirial Plenipotentiary Viper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida
    Posts
    49,718
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by goku2057 View Post
    I have an intel core2 Quad q6600. Its been fairly solid for me.
    Those are becoming harder to find new. Amazon has a tray (not boxed model) from a 3rd party vendor going for $201 and they only have 5 left.
    The current US government is the type of government the founding fathers fought against and warned us about.

    America, the Dr. will free you now.


  20. #40
    *madhouse's offical creepy old guy* Smokey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    8,079
    Post Thanks / Like
    many thanks viper i can cut alot of this out then

    i did build up a pc online would cost me just over a grand

    Thermaltake Full ATX Overseer Case Black with Dock (No PSU)

    Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit OEM

    Intel S1155 Core i7 2700K 3.50Ghz Quad Core Unlocked CPU

    Gigabyte S1155 MicroATX GA-Z68MA-D2H-B3 Motherboard

    NVIDIA GTX560 Ti 1GB ASUS PCIe Video Card PN ENGTX560-TI-DC2-1GD5

    700 Watt Thermaltake LitePower Power Supply
    my PSN name is smokey777
    Originally posted julps31
    The truth. MGS has aged gracefully. MGS1 = MILF

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

User Tag List

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •