PDA

View Full Version : PS3 onstage using new Firmware!?



jaxmkii
03-08-2007, 05:13 AM
did you notice that whenever phill selected the "movie" tab on the XMB all his thumbnails where moving? that must be the new firmware

xbdestroya
03-08-2007, 05:16 AM
The Sony units have been doing that since E3 last year. They're running a different firmware, but not sure if that will be incorporated into the *next* firmware, if you know what I mean.

But I hope so!

Garfunkel
03-08-2007, 05:28 AM
that's probably an alpha or something of a CVS build inside sony.

jaxmkii
03-08-2007, 05:30 AM
you know what was cool the entire presentation was done using the PS3 as a media PC...

dockthepod
03-08-2007, 05:32 AM
You can run those thumbnails on your current machine guys :)

It took me a while to realize this, but you just have to fiddle with the menu while you are watching a movie and you should see a button that creates the icon from the next 15 seconds of the movie. It's tight.

I do think they were running new firmware though... I don't see a HOME icon on my XMB ;)

julps31
03-08-2007, 05:32 AM
you know what was cool the entire presentation was done using the PS3 as a media PC...*reads sig*

Fillibuster
03-08-2007, 05:33 AM
You can run those thumbnails on your current machine guys :)

It took me a while to realize this, but you just have to fiddle with the menu while you are watching a movie and you should see a button that creates the icon from the next 15 seconds of the movie. It's tight.

I do think they were running new firmware though... I don't see a HOME icon on my XMB ;)

Word.

xbdestroya
03-08-2007, 05:42 AM
You can run those thumbnails on your current machine guys....

Well, that's that - I've got to create a 'using your PS3' guide; that's just embarrassing that I wouldn't know how to do this given my place writing about this thing. Thanks for the heads up dockthepod. :smoke:

Oh PS3, how awesome thou art!

yoshaw
03-08-2007, 05:52 AM
Indeed Xb! PS3 art the thou the whatever man.... it's awesome!

rotorhead
03-08-2007, 06:07 AM
movie thumbnails discussed here for the first time on this forum I believe.

http://forums.e-mpire.com/showthread.php?t=65638

n1n9tean
03-08-2007, 06:25 AM
Wow, hahahahaaaaa........

This thread made me chuckle.

Luis
03-08-2007, 09:30 AM
Jax, xb and Garfunkel got pwned badly :dur:

n1n9tean
03-08-2007, 09:42 AM
You call yourselves Playstation veterans!?

*rips patches off shoulders*

Smokey
03-08-2007, 10:03 AM
You call yourselves Playstation veterans!?

*rips patches off shoulders*

i love this forum :)

*where do i get patches*

Fats
03-08-2007, 10:29 AM
Lmao, awesome.

Sephiroth_VII
03-08-2007, 11:55 AM
Guys, read the instruction manual next time, okay? :hugegrin:

Garfunkel
03-08-2007, 12:31 PM
i hate being wrong :(

CygnusXI
03-08-2007, 12:42 PM
Patches... Patches!?
They don't need no stinkin Patches!
:damarus:

LaLiLuLeLo
03-08-2007, 12:56 PM
hahaha you guys didnt' know that? Man, what happened to spending like 3 hours a day just messing with each individual function in your new hardware until you've yanked out every cool feature there is? Ohhhh jaxmkii. I thought you were made of sterner stuff :)

You can totally already make thumbnail previews, like dockthepod said. But I'm sure he was running on a newer firmware in any case, the ps3 had HOME on it. duuuhhhh. :P

jaxmkii
03-08-2007, 01:00 PM
often i dont know what a system is capible of untill i find i need it... ;(

F089/H
03-08-2007, 01:01 PM
Gotta watch those GDC videos.

Sephiroth_VII
03-08-2007, 02:23 PM
By the way, a fun fact: If you download a video from the PS store, there's no auto-generated thumbnail. However, if you import a video from a memorystick or a cd, the PS3 makes one automatically.

I don't know why, I think it's a little weird.

Luis
03-08-2007, 02:26 PM
PS3 should always generate a video thumbnail, honestly. It'd be a little touch that everyone would probably like.

satriales
03-08-2007, 02:33 PM
PS3 should always generate a video thumbnail, honestly. It'd be a little touch that everyone would probably like.
I agree, it should automatically put the first 15 seconds into the thumbnail when you download any videos.

Rip3001
03-08-2007, 02:35 PM
PS3 should always generate a video thumbnail, honestly. It'd be a little touch that everyone would probably like.

For some reason, when I copy a .MP4 video from my usb thumbdrive over to the PS3 HDD, it'll create a videofeed icon automaticly. I haven't DL'd any new videos from the PSN, could this auto icon be part of the 1.54 patch?

Z
03-08-2007, 02:53 PM
did you notice that whenever phill selected the "movie" tab on the XMB all his thumbnails where moving? that must be the new firmware
he was using a new firmware or an edited one, but it wasn't because the moie clips were playing in the icons. it was because there was a home icon in there. he may have used it to demonstrate home (I haven't seen the full Home presentation yet. getting there:) ).

to make all your movie clips have animated showings, open any saved video in your PS3. while the video is playing, bring up the video menu options. at the top row, you'll see an icon wich looks like the XMB logo (cross dots). click it. it will tell you that you will start to record a 12 sec. video to use as this videos animated icon on the XMB starting from the point you clicked on this option.

and viola. all my vids are animated. :afro:

Patches... Patches!?
They don't need no stinkin Patches!
:damarus:
wait till you find out our patches are actually tatooed on you. yeah, I know what're thinking; "ouch".
we're just hardcore like that. :lick:

Leedogg
03-08-2007, 04:37 PM
all four movies on my HDD have movie thumbnails that i created

user friendly
03-08-2007, 05:12 PM
I cant believe you guys, I try every little function to see what it does. As soon as I did that I was making them for every video I have. I thought this thrtead was gunna be about the new icons (related to home). I stayed up till 4:00am last night hoping this update would come.

LaLiLuLeLo
03-08-2007, 05:15 PM
often i dont know what a system is capible of untill i find i need it... ;(

said everyone who doesn't get the value of the ps3.
:fighting:
I mean, really? You don't just sit down and tinker with everything from time to time? Sigh. What kind of person are you?

Z
03-08-2007, 06:06 PM
you should be ashamed of yourself! give that PS3 back this instant. you don't deserve it!

...and while you're at it, I wouldn't mind you giving me that big ass TV of yours.

user friendly
03-08-2007, 06:20 PM
PS3 should always generate a video thumbnail, honestly. It'd be a little touch that everyone would probably like.

I kinda like choosing where I want it to start, that way you dont get the credits in it.

Luis
03-08-2007, 06:53 PM
I kinda like choosing where I want it to start, that way you dont get the credits in it.I didn't mean you shouldn't be able to change it afterwards.

Coded-Dude
03-08-2007, 06:55 PM
Actually I uploaded some MUSIC videos, from a Back-Up CD I have, and they already had animated Icons.
Although nothing I have downloaded(via internet) straight to PS3 has had that.
(I have to create them)

user friendly
03-08-2007, 07:00 PM
I didn't mean you shouldn't be able to change it afterwards.

:hurt:

OmniStalgic
03-09-2007, 01:45 AM
Man you guys are slow....The first thing I do when I put a video on my PS3 is make a thumbnail of it. THat's one of the best things about the XMB! Freakin awesome how I can really just plug a flash drive up and put everything on my PC to my PS3...Images, videos, music, I even put a porn on there for my little cousin....

This is one of the reason I was so bummed out about custom soundtracks and multi-tasking. It would be awesome if you could access the XBM from inside a game!!!!!!

btw-check out the interview in the official GDC thread by NeoPlaystation. Phil really gives some insight on just what the Home feature means for gamers.